PUBLIQuartet plays String Quartet No. 1 (1991) by Nataliya Medvedovskaya.
21 Oct 2012
Deeply moving performance of Medvedovskaya's "String Quartet No. 1" by PUBLIQuartet at Bargemusic, September 20, 2012. This brilliant young quartet consists of Curtis Stewart, violin; Jannina Norpoth, violin (visiting); Nick Revel, viola; and Amanda Gookin, cello; as part of New York Composers Circle concert and Bargemusic's "Here and Now" series. Russian American composer and concert pianist, Nataliya Medvedovskaya, composed her String Quartet No. 1 in 1991 when she was only 18 years of age. It was premiered around the world by the legendary St. Petersburg Quartet to stellar reviews. Richard S. Ginell of the Los Angeles Times (April 16 2003) called it " amazingly mature Quartet No. 1 [for an 18 year-old composer]... Only eight minutes long, the piece has a tight, arching structure, good ideas that are bounced around the instruments and a restless, dramatic temperament audibly handed down from Shostakovich."
<April 2021>

Download Code

Redeem your download code here. You will need to sign in or create an account to receive your files. Thanks & enjoy!

Become a Fan

Become a fan of Nataliya Medvedovskaya to hear about new music, videos, event info & special offers.


Medvedovskaya: FIrst Snow
Medvedovskaya: Suite "Pantomimes" for clarinet and piano
Medvedovskaya: "Adventures of Nils" ballet based on a tale by Selma Lagerlöf

Websites and Mobile Apps Powered by InstantEncore